Archaeology
- Archaeology Research Guide
For more specific access to our archaeology resources, see librarian Jennifer Little's archaeology guide.
Comments (0)
Getting the full text
If you see this button, then the article full text is not there.Click on the button to follow up on the options. Ask us if you need help.
Databases to find articles
- JSTOR
Full-text database of articles dating back to the middle 1800's. Does not have current articles, but is excellent for anthropology topics. See Relevant Journal titles for a search screen example. - Academic Search Complete
Coverage from all areas of anthropology, including many peer-reviewed anthropology and other social sciences journals. - Ethnic Newswatch
Provides “additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.”
Limit to scholarly articles to avoid “popular” magazines and newspapers. - GenderWatch
Journals, magazines and newspapers on a wide range of gender and gay and lesbian issues. - Lexis-Nexis
A good resource for newspaper articles from around the world. Helpful when looking for news reporting of native peoples etc.
History Databases
These two databases might work if you need the history of a civilization or more in-depth coverage of a culture.
- America: History and LifeIndexes articles for U.S. and Canadian history.
Links to full-text articles IF available from the Drake library, otherwise use Interlibrary Loan. - Historical AbstractsIndexes articles and books on history, excluding the U.S. and Canada.
Links to full-text articles IF available; otherwise use interlibrary loan.
If you have a citation and need to find it...
In three steps:
1. Read the citation and pick out the journal title.
2. Use the Journals tab to find a database containing your journal.

3. Search within the database to find your specific article (by year or issue).
- Citation Linker
Try this link if you want to try to find the most direct link to your article. - Journal and Newspaper Listing (Alphabetical)
Takes you directly to the listing where you can put in the TITLE of the JOURNAL you are searching for. - Find Articles by citation -- A step-by-step guide.
Use this link to see screenshots of how to search for your article.
Loading...
