Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Academic Planning Seminar (APS) / GEP100  Tags: getting started gep100 aps freshmen first year library refresher  

A basic introduction to library and information research.
Last update: Sep 12th, 2009 URL: http://brockport.libguides.com/aps  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles            Print Page
  
 

What is a "database?"

A database is an organized collection of computer records.

In a library or research database each record matches an article in a newspaper, magazine or journal. The records found in these library databases contain the same information as "citations."

The full-text for the article is not always available online; sometimes you might have to look for the print copy or request the article from interlibrary loan.

 
 

Databases

The library provides access to over 100 different databases.

If you don't know where to start, Academic Search Complete covers the most subject areas and has many full-text articles.

The Find Articles & Databases page has arranged databases:

  • Alphabetically: When you know the title you need.
  • By subject: When you need more specialized information (i.e. CINAHL is a good database for nursing majors.) 
  • By General area: When you are not sure where to start.


 

Librarian

Profile ImageJennifer J Little
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Office: 585.395.2482
Reference Desk: 585.395.2760
Reference Desk IM: drakeref
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait