Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Academic Planning Seminar (APS) / GEP100  Tags: getting started gep100 aps freshmen first year library refresher  

A basic introduction to library and information research.
Last update: Sep 12th, 2009 URL: http://brockport.libguides.com/aps  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Searching Tips             Print Page
  
 

Did you know?

Did you know that you can search multiple EBSCO databases at the same time?

To do this, choose the drop down menu. The database in which you are seaching will already be checked (eg. Academic Search Premier).

Using the check boxes, select:

  • SportDISCUS

Once you've selected the databases, scroll down the screen to look at the specific limiters for each database.

Click Submit and your screen will refresh. You are now searching several databases at once.

 

 
 

Search for Full-text button

Don't give up when you see the    search for full text button imagebutton!

You may be able to view the article in another database, or we can get it for you through Interlibrary Loan.

Visit this page for more detailed information.

 

My EBSCO

My EBSCOhost is a feature of EBSCO databases that allows you to save your searches and articles for future access. To sign up for this feature, click "Sign In to MY EBSCOhost", at the top right of the screen from any page within an EBSCOhost database.

 

Advanced Search Reminders

  • To look for a phrase use “quotation marks” around your terms:
    • “inclusive science classroom” will find those wordsnext to each other, instead of anywhere on the page.
  • To look for variations of a word, or to look for the singular and plural, use the *:
    • Construct* will find constructivism, constructivist but also construction.
 

Librarian

Profile ImageJennifer J Little
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Office: 585.395.2482
Reference Desk: 585.395.2760
Reference Desk IM: drakeref
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait