Finding articles online
- America: History & Life
Index to history of North America - includes links to articles, also book reviews, dissertations... - Historical Abstracts
Companion to above, covers history outside North America. - JSTOR
Major history journals. None are less than 3 years old, but everything prior is there, e.g. English Historical Review 1886-2001. - Academic Search Complete
Multi-subject database includes a number of history titles - plus can use "choose databases" to access other resources. - Humanities International Complete
- New York Times Historical
Entire NY Times, articles, editorials, ads..., 1851-2004. - Rochester History
Doing local or regional history? Try this title, it's online 1939-date.
Print Indexes
While there's a lot online, especially for journal articles, popular magazine articles don't go back as far. To find such articles, you'd want to use one or more of the below. They are also helpful for some scholarly articles, as well as books and some government and other reports.
(You'll need to write down the references, then check for them via our journals link to see if we have them, either online or in hardcopy. If we don't have them, we can usually get them though interlibrary loan.)
Readers Guide: (1905-1990, REF AI3.R48) References to articles in popular journals and magazines.
PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service Bulletin. (1915-2004, REF H96). It covers both some periodical literature, and also some government and other publications.
Writings on American History: (1902-1990, REF E151 .W7). A bibliography of books and articles on American and Canadian history.
My EBSCO
My EBSCOhost is a feature of EBSCO databases that allows you to save your searches and articles for future access. To sign up for this feature, click "Sign In to MY EBSCOhost", at the top right of the screen from any page within an EBSCOhost database.
Loading...
